The Umaru Musa Yar’Adua University Library was established along with the University by the Katsina state house of assembly Law No. 7 of 5th September 2006. It was established to support and supplement teaching and research by providing a wide range of materials relevant to the institutional disciplines.

The Umaru Musa Yar’Adua University Library system is made up of the Main Library which houses a collection of carefully selected books and periodicals in all the subject areas of programs offered by the University.  It also complements its services with e-Library facilities comprising over 200 Lap-top and Desk-top computers fully connected to the internet.  In addition to the Main Library resources, there are five faculty Libraries fully equipped with books and e-Library facilities that are linked to the main Library via the internet.  There are also departmental resource rooms in the Faculties of Arts and Humanities and Education under the supervision of their Heads of Department.

The Main Library

The Main Library has a major lending section which serves the entire University community.  The Library was formally opened on 19th March, 2009 by the erstwhile President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, Late Alh. Umaru Musa Yar’Adua, GCFR (of blessed memory). The Library was opened in January, 2007, with the admission of the first batch of students of the University at the temporary site, within the premises of Hassan Usman Katsina Polytechnic.  It was located in a large reading- room with capacity for sixty three users.  The premises served as the Readers’ Services area as well as offices for the few staff of the Library; with a nucleus collection of textbooks, reference sources and supplementary reading materials to support the programs offered.

In January, 2009, the University Library moved into the present ultra-modern building.  It is a one-storey quadruplex superstructure with a total floor space area of 2,677sq meters, and with a shelving space for about 300,000 (Three hundred thousand) volumes and a sitting capacity for 1,000 or more user. Currently, the Library’s holdings are approaching 32,000 volumes excluding serials collection, electronic journal subscriptions, databases and official Government Publications. 

The qua-duplex design has eight wings. The ground floor left wing houses the General Administration, offices and a seminar room.  The central area is occupied by Newspaper reading space.  The ground floor right wing also houses the main Data center of the University, e-Library, Reserve, Reference, Technical Services and Special Collections.

The top floor houses the Lending sections from which Circulation operates.   The front left wing houses Education, Library Sciences, Geography, philosophy, Arts and the Social Sciences. 

All Serials are at the other wing i.e. the right wing.  The rear left wing houses the Natural & Applied Sciences collections while the right wing houses the SBRS collection.  The central area houses the Faculty Research Room.  The Training and Audio-Visual room are next to the SBRS unit.